Advent Bible Study

A Guide to Bible Study Methods Found in Scripture

  • Bible Study Books in Print

    Collection of books with Bible Stories and examples showing how to study scripture.

    Click here to see a list of Books in Print

  • List of Online Bible Study eBooks Available

    Advent Bible Study online eBook Store

    Advent Bible Study online eBook Store

  • Stories on the Gospel of Matthew now available as eBooks

    Short stories on the life and ministry of Jesus

    This Ebook series on Matthew contains more than 100 stories about the people Jesus ministered to as a set of downloads at a modest price.

  • Understanding Parables According To The Gospel Of Mark

    Jesus explains how to understand parables

    This book explains how Jesus taught simple lessons so His disciples could understand all parables and scripture with simple lessons a child can understand.

  • Jesus Teaches About Relationships

    There is a difference between a worldly relationship and one made in Heaven.

    Learn what Jesus taught about relationships established in Eden

  • Understanding the Hebrew Messiah

    The Gospel of Luke

    A book based on Luke's Gospel showing the work of God's Spirit in Jesus' ministry.

  • John Chapters 1-10 eBook

    An in depth look at Jesus' ministry from John's Gospel

    Learn how Jesus followed God's Spirit throughout His ministry.

  • The Tabernacle “T” is for The Cross

  • The Tabernacle, Temple, and Sanctuary: Genesis 1 to Exodus 27

    The Tabernacle, Temple, and Sanctuary: Genesis 1 to Exodus 27

    Series of books on the Tabernacle, its construction, the services and priesthood.

  • Prophecies Fulfilled Genesis to Deuteronomy and Joshua to Chronicles

    It makes sense to learn about the prophecies fulfilled before trying to figure out those still in the future.

    Understanding Prophecies Fulfilled is the key to understanding all prophecy. Stories, studies and study methods explained.

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 83 other followers

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 83 other followers

  • © Copyright 2009 – 2016 Dennis Herman

    Material may be copied and shared with permission at AdventBible@gmailcom. Please include the following information.
    © Copyright 2009 - 2016 Dennis Herman
    https://adventbiblestudy.wordpress.com/
    Creative Commons License
    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
    AdventBible@gmailcom

  • The Tabernacle, Temple, and Sanctuary

    A new verse by verse look at the Tabernacle

    1st in a new series of books looking at the Tabernacle just as Moses recorded the details.

  • 10% Off Print Books

    10% off Advent Bible Study Print Books discount code

    Click here to get your code for 10% off Advent Bible Study books in print only from CreateSpace

Colossians 2: The great conflict I have for you.

Posted by adventbiblestudy on July 22, 2011


(Colossians 2:1) For I would that ye knew what great conflict I have for you, and for them at Laodicea, and for as many as have not seen my face in the flesh;

The Lord has prepared this conflict for me. My past actions have taken me to a point in my life, I had turned so far away from God, trials and conflicts are the only way I can see the errors of my way. To learn the difference between right and wrong. To see and understand the ways of the world I have let into my life to distort my relationship with God. Dear Lord, let me see and understand the lessons you have for me. Let me pray to you from the heart that you change every aspect of my life that separate me from you. Take all my earthly desires away, and make me the disciple you need me to be.

 

(Colossians 2:2) That their hearts might be comforted, being knit together in love, and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding, to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ;

Lord, knit my heart with yours. Let me see and understand your ways. Open my heart to you. Give me your comfort, and let me experience it every moment of every day. Give me your love oh Lord. Let your love flow through me.

 

(Colossians 2:3) In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

I have seen the treasures of your wisdom and knowledge. Every time I opened your word I have seen your glory, I have felt your Spirit. Through your word you have proved to me, you exist, you are real, you are in my life, and your knowledge surpasses all understanding.

 

(Colossians 2:4) And this I say, lest any man should beguile you with enticing words.

Lord keep every enticing word of man out if my life. Cast the influence of every negative thought far from me. Lord cast the devil and his spirits far away. Do not let them, or their agents near me. Protect me with your love. Let only your grace, and your Spirit lead me every moment of every day.

 

(Colossians 2:5) For though I be absent in the flesh, yet am I with you in the spirit, joying and beholding your order, and the stedfastness of your faith in Christ.

Bring this joy into my life. The joy that only you can give. Lord let me know you are near. Bless my day with your presence. Let me know you are so near. Let me feel your love, and know your understanding, joy, and love.

 

(Colossians 2:6) As ye have therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk ye in him:

Let me walk with you Jesus, and be the example I need to be. Let your love flow through me. Not my way Lord but yours.

 

(Colossians 2:7) Rooted and built up in him, and stablished in the faith, as ye have been taught, abounding therein with thanksgiving.

Thank you Lord for saving me. Thank you for your sacrifice for me. Thank you for eternal life, and thank you for always watching over me. Establish my life in your faith. Mine will never be enough. I want your faith, the faith of Jesus in my life.

 

(Colossians 2:8) Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.

Lord, don’t let me fall. Keep my eyes on you and you only. Let no evil influence over take me for one moment. Never let me be deceived by the thoughts, desires, promises, and philosophy of the world. Not for one moment. I know how slowly I can fall. Let me learn from those mistakes. Thank you Jesus for showing me the way.

 

(Colossians 2:9) For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.

Only through you Jesus can I learn to be complete. Only through you can I be the type of man you want me to be. Let me be an example, so others can see you through me.

 

(Colossians 2:10) And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power.

Lord, let me be complete in you. Let all my life be an example of you. Not my way Lord, but yours. Lord I dedicate 100% of my life to you. Take my life, and change me. All of me.

Leave a Reply

 
